Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Big Ten Conference has determined the divisions and 2011-2012 schedules per Big Ten Network and interview with Commissioner Delaney

The Michigan-Ohio State series will remain at the end of the season. Works well for us. If they are played back to back, so be it.

The Divisions are in. The Big Ten Conference will be broken into divisions in 2011, when Nebraska joins.

X Division - Iowa, Nebraska, Minnesota, Michigan Michigan State and Northwestern.

O Division - Illinois, Indiana, Purdue, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin.

They got it right. Iowa will have a protected series with Purdue, while Ohio State-Michigan, Penn State-Nebraska, Wisconsin-Minnesota, Indiana-Michigan State and Illinois-Northwestern will be protected series between both divisions.

The divisions will only be used for football. Basketball and the Olympic Sports will not have divisions. You may see regional pods in some of the Olympic sports per Commissioner Jim Delaney on the Big Ten Network.

The nine-game conference schedule is still going to have to be fully determined, since each conference school seeks a minimum of seven home games each season.

The first Big Ten championship game will be held in 2011 in Indianapolis. In future years, the Big Ten may seek other locations. It will be indoors for year one, but we may see an outdoor venue in the future. Here are the 2011 and 2012 in the Big Ten (pdf). Iowa will not face Illinois for another two seasons, due to the new format and 12Th team.


No comments: