Saturday, June 18, 2011

The Road to Omaha is Complete; College World Series: Play Ball!

The new TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha will host the College World Series this year for the first time. The memories of old Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha will be replaced with a new downtown facility close to hotels and Omaha's Old Market district.

Eight teams will battle in this year's double elimination bracket, followed by the best of three games championship series format for the 2011 tournament. The 2010 College World Series champs are back, with South Carolina in Omaha to defend their title.

Bracket 1: (starts Saturday, June 18Th)

  • Game 1 - North Carolina vs. Vanderbilt

  • Game 2 - Texas vs. Florida

Bracket 2: (starts Sunday, June 19Th)

  • Game 3 - California vs. Virginia

  • Game 4 - South Carolina vs. Texas A&M
Twenty years ago, Creighton and Wichita State faced off in the 1991 College World Series in one of the most memorable games at Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium. The losing pitcher that day was Creighton's Brian O'Connor. O'Connor is back in 2011 as the head coach leading the Virginia into the 2011 CWS.

New memories begin in 2011 at the College World Series in the new downtown venue in Omaha.

No comments: