Thursday, January 1, 2015

Happy New Year's as B1G plays in four of five Bowls to welcome in 2015!

Cedar Rapids, IA - - The new College Football Playoff officially kicks off today in 2015, with the Sugar and Rose Bowls, serving as semi-final match ups. In addition, three other bowl games will feature Big Ten teams, as College Football welcomes in 2015!

Who will win the first CFP National Championship?

1. Alabama
2. Oregon
3. Florida State
4. Ohio State

The Rose Bowl will field Oregon vs. Florida State, while the night cap in the Sugar Bowl features Alabama vs. Ohio State. The winners will play Monday, January 12th in the Championship Game.

“Every great team has a routine,” Ohio State head coach Urban Meyer said. “It's our job not to disrupt the routine. We do that the best we can when we're on the road, whether it be State College or East Lansing or New Orleans for a bowl game. So we're a real stickler about that, our routine is best Fridays in football and it starts today. … Our players enjoy the routine on Friday. The most important thing, task at hand, is we get our meetings done quickly. We have a run through, walk through, and then we have to make sure they sleep.”

How will 2015 be for these football programs, along with us all?

Will it be routine, special, up or down?

The season is done for most College Football programs.

The Big Ten has four games to celebrate the New Year today and one final bowl game on Friday, featuring the Iowa Hawkeyes.
Preview of Iowa vs. Tennessee in the TaxSlayer Bowl on 1/2.

First up:
11 a.m. from Tampa on ESPN2 is the Outback Bowl:
Wisconsin vs. Auburn, as the Badgers athletic director Barry Alvarez (0-1 in '12) leads UW into another bowl game serving as interim coach.

Auburn vs. Wisconsin Outback Bowl Preview

At 11:30 a.m. from Dallas on EPSN is the Cotton Bowl:
Michigan State vs. Baylor, as the Spartans face the Big 12's co-champion, who won the head to head match-up, with TCU.

Baylor vs. Michigan State Cotton Bowl Preview

At Noon from Orlando on ABC is the Citrus Bowl:
Minnesota vs. Missouri, as the Golden Gophers enjoy a rare New Year's Day on the gridiron against a SEC opponent. It has been over 50 years for the Golden Gophers ...

Minnesota vs. Missouri Citrus Bowl Preview

The Big Ten vs. SEC in the final four of five bowl match ups for the respective conferences. There will be some big time bragging rights on the line.

The SEC West has witnessed LSU, Ole Miss and Mississippi State all fall thus far during the 2014-15 bowl season. What happens today?

The first semi-final comes from the Granddaddy of all bowl games from Pasadena, California. It will be a 4 p.m. kickoff on ESPN as the ACC champ faces the traditional entry from the Pac 12 in the Rose Bowl.

Rose Bowl:
4 p.m. on ESPN
Florida State vs. Oregon
The undefeated, defending BCS champion Seminoles travel across the country to face the Ducks in the Granddaddy!

The final game of the New Year's Day will take place in New Orleans as the SEC champion takes on the Big Ten champion in the Heart of the SEC, the Sugar Bowl.

Sugar Bowl:
7:30 p.m. on ESPN
Alabama vs. Ohio State
Nick Saban vs. Urban Meyer

The 2015 New Year's Day bowl line up should make for an exciting day. The new College Football Playoff and bowl lineup has been outstanding thus far in Year 1.

It should only help make 2015 a great year. Happy New Year to all!

No comments: