Tuesday, August 26, 2008

Is the MWC home of the non-BCS big Hope in '08?

Who will make the BCS bowls in 2008? A lot of discussion about Georgia and Ohio State these days. What conference outside the Big Six will carry the non-BCS conference banner this season?

Will one among the Mountain West Conference be one of the BCS bowl participants in 2008?

The Mountain West Conference carried the banner in 2004, with Utah, who beat Pittsburgh 35-7 in the Fiesta Bowl. The Western Athletic Conference has carried the banner the past two seasons. This year's popular choice this year could lead the the MWC back in line as the top non-BCS flag carrier.

Brigham Young is a preseason consensus Top 25 member. They are the most popular candidate among the non-BCS programs to crash the BCS party in '08. While not a consensus pick, Utah is a candidate for the Top 25, as well, from the MWC.

Top 15 OOC MWC games:
  1. Utah at Michigan in season opener
  2. Brigham Young at Washington
  3. Oregon State at Utah
  4. UCLA at Brigham Young
  5. Stanford at TCU
  6. Colorado State vs. Colorado in season opener (in Denver)
  7. Iowa State at UNLV
  8. Arizona at New Mexico
  9. Texas A&M at New Mexico
  10. TCU at Oklahoma
  11. UNLV at Arizona State
  12. Wyoming at Tennessee
  13. San Diego State at Notre Dame
  14. Colorado State at California
  15. Northern Iowa at Brigham Young in season opener

The MWC looks to grab the flag over the WAC and all others among the non-BCS to carrier the banner in '08. Will the MWC grab it again? Will have to see the season unfold to find out.

So, who do I like in the MWC race in '08?

  1. Brigham Young Cougars (8-0 in '07) enter their fourth year under coach Bronco Mendenhall and will have to weather having a target on their backs in '08 to prevail.
  2. Utah Utes (6-2 in '07) enter their fourth year under Kyle Whittingham and will look to win their first MWC title, since '04 and Urban Meyer's final team in Salt Lake City that saw the Utes earn and win a BCS bowl game.
  3. TCU Horned Frogs (4-4 in '07) will welcome their eighth season under coach Gary Patterson, who is best known for his defense and should have one of the better units in the MWC.
  4. New Mexico Lobos (5-3 in '07) host the dean of the MWC with coach Rocky Long, who will build off last year's success and a 23-0 win over Nevada in the New Mexico Bowl.
  5. Wyoming Cowboys (2-6 in '07) are lead by coach Joe Glenn, entering his sixth season... with junior QB Karsten Sween and senior RB Devin Moore leading the offense!
  6. San Diego State Aztecs (3-5 in '07) look for better play in coach Chuck Long's thrid campaign as the Aztecs head man!
  7. UNLV Rebels (1-7 in '07) begin year four under coach Mike Sanford and look to get out of the cellar after four straight seasons there in the MWC.
  8. Air Force Falcons (6-2 in '07) may have a tougher second year with coach Troy Calhoun at the helm in Colorado Springs.
  9. Colorado State Rams (2-6 in '07) welcome the new coach in the MWC with Steve Fairchild replacing long-time coach Sonny Lubick.
  • Biggest Game and Rivalry: Nov. 22 - BYU at Utah in "The Holy War" rivalry game
  • Next Best Game: TCU at New Mexico in season opener
  • Coach of the Year: Bronco Mendenhall, BYU

So, the MWC hopes to garner a BCS game or bust, in '08!


No comments: